McMaster University
MSU Teaching Awards in Chemistry Print E-mail

This year, our department can boast two 2011 winners from the annual MSU Teaching Awards ceremony.  Dr. Guiseppe Melacini won the Teaching Award as the top instructor in the Faculty of Science.  Dr. David Brock was awarded the 2011 MSU Merit Award; this award is given to the top instructor in the university who is teaching in either their first or second year at McMaster.  David was also a finalist in the Faculty-wide teaching award competition.

The Faculty of Science had the largest number of finalists (5) of any Faculty and three of the finalists were from our department: Drs. David Brock, Jim McNulty and Giuseppe Melacini.  The other two Science nominees were Drs. Dick Day (Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour) and Miroslav Lovric (Mathematics and Statistics); the latter two are recognized as outstanding teachers and both are former MSU Teaching Award winners and 3M Teaching Award winners.  Congratulations to David, Jim and Giuseppe for being selected to be in the final category and to Giuseppe for taking home the overall Faculty teaching award.

The 2011 teaching awards build upon a tradition of teaching excellence and winning MSU Teaching Awards in the department.  Over the past 15 years Chemistry has won an impressive number of MSU Faculty of Science Teaching Awards: Michael Brook (1997 and 2002), Pippa Lock (2004 and 2009) and Fred Capretta (2007).  In 2001 a one-year CLA named Allison Perrot also won the top Faculty of Science award; Allison left McMaster after one year to move to BC with her husband.  In her first year teaching at McMaster Pippa Lock won the 2002 MSU Merit Award, just as David Brock did tonight.

Congratulations to all faculty members who were nominated for a teaching award, who were Faculty finalists for a teaching award or who won an award.  Your efforts are most appreciated by our students.

Brian E. McCarry, Ph.D.
Stephen A. Jarislowsky Chair in Environment and Health
Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Acting Chair, Department of Biology
Director, Occupational and Environmental Health Laboratory
McMaster University

Chemistry & Chemical Biology
McMaster Academic Planner